Hello blogosphere

Ahhh, the pressure of the first post! Before we start discussing the the current issues in the professional and college sports industries, let me tell you a little bit about myself as a sports fan and an aspiring PR practitioner.

I was raised by a Michigander, which means being a Tigers and Redwings fan in good times and bad. Growing up in the Palo Alto, California area, I rooted for Stanford, always hoping to play basketball for the university until I realized my genetics wouldn’t allow me to reach anywhere past 5’2″. Around the time I came to this reality I fell in love with the University of Oregon Ducks where I started in the fall of 2008. It wasn’t until college that I started following professional basketball more avidly. Although I was surrounded by Blazer fans, I immediately clung to the Sacramento Kings. My timing isn’t the best, I know, seeing as the Kings are one of the worst teams in NBA right now and there’s talk of them moving to southern California or Las Vegas…more about that later.

Backtracking a little. After graduating from high school in 2008, I was hired to a mobile social networking company from Japan that was looking to dip its toes in the American market. For this company I worked on branding a company unknown in the US. It was here that I realized the importance of branding yourself be it corporate or personal. I, like many other students, took a summer off when the economy crashed and was lucky to land an internship last summer (2010) at The Bateman Group. TBG is a boutique PR and social media marketing agency located in San Francisco with clients primarily in the technology industry but recently ranging far beyond any one category. With the guidance of the Bateman team I was able to learn the do’s and don’ts in the PR realm with respect to media relations, writing and client relations. Towards the end of my internship with TBG I wrote a post for the company blog, “Bateman Banter,” addressing public relations teaching and learning in the digital age.

I am currently midway through the public relations sequence within the School of Journalism and Communications at Oregon. Maintaining a blog of our own interests is part of my “J 452: Strategic Public Relations Communications” class. With that in mind, I’m sure this blog will live much longer than the ten-week term. This blog will talk about what’s going on in the sports industry from a public relations perspective; I guess you could say I’m mixing business with pleasure…hopefully in a good way. So, this is for all those sports fans and PR enthusiasts who know that some of the worst handled situations occur in sports.

Hope you enjoy what’s to come!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

